top of page
  • Writer's pictureSabrina Mriouah

Seasonal Depression: Warning Signs + Tips

Updated: Dec 8, 2022

Season Depression


These months are known as the “happiest time of the year” but for some, that is the complete opposite. Holidays such as Christmas and Thanksgiving are primarily family-oriented times and for individuals who do not have the best relationship with family or have experienced losses, these times can be extremely lonely for them. The increase in colder weather that happens in the months of October through February is a drastic physical change for most of us.

However, individuals who are more prone to develop depressive tendencies during these months, experience mental changes as well. Alongside the change of weather comes daylight saving time which makes it get dark a lot earlier in the day. Daylight saving is known to have a significant effect on the increase in seasonal depression rates as it deprives us of our vitamin D intake which affects our serotonin and other hormones. Knowing this information is important as it can help your loved ones during these tough changes. Here are some ways you can help recognize these signs in yourself or others and ways to help lower the intensity of these symptoms.


Seasonal depression (SAD) is a type of depression that affect individuals during a certain season of the year. This could be any season depending on the individual, it is most seen during the cold months. Here’s a list of symptoms to look out for recommended by the mayo clinic:


  • Feeling constantly sad every day

  • Losing interest in activities/ friends (Social Withdraw)

  • Low energy levels

  • Insomnia or sleeping for long amounts of hours during a day

  • Rapid weight loss or gain

  • Having suicidal thoughts

  • Increased anxiety


Here’s the link with all the information listed above, and more if you'd like to learn more about the topic.



Over the years, I’ve realized that I am one of the individuals who will be affected by SAD every winter season. I noticed the pattern and learn to do some things to help me stay in a healthy mindset through these months. Here are my 5 tips:


  • Wake up 20 minutes earlier, and take that time to soak in the sun.

  • Light Therapy: Light therapy is something that I just discovered last year and I've been loving it. On days when I don’t get enough sunlight, I will use this light and it helps balance my mood and hormones the same as regular sunlight would do. This technique is used by many therapists and is proven to help drastically for individuals with SAD.

  • Organization: I make sure to prep healthy meals once a week in order to help myself throughout the week when I am feeling tired and unmotivated to health healthy.

  • Sleep and vitamins: I prioritize my sleep during these months as it can be easy for me to stay up late and stay in bed all day. Vitamins also help stabilize my hormones and sleep patterns.

  • Talk to your loved ones! Express to the people close to you how you are feeling and don't be afraid to lean on them for support and an escape. You deserve time to relax and have fun.

Let us know your favorite ways to combat the winter blues.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page